Close this search box.

The Malwatta and Asgiriya monastic establishments have been closely associated with the sacred Tooth Relic to the extent that the Mahanayakes of the two monasteries, together with the DiyawadanaNilame, play the role of the three custodians of the sacred Tooth Relic. All religious rituals throughout the year, expositions of the sacred Tooth Relic and other matters relating to the sacred Tooth Relic are executed under the jurisdiction and the blessings of the two Mahanayakes. The two Mahanayakes today play the role of guardians of the State of Sri Lanka in that the Heads of States seek their blessings in the practice of State policies. The two monastic establishments seem to have been following the age-old monkish avocations – gamavasi (City dwellers) and vanavasi (Forest dwellers). Of these, MalvatuMaha Vihara comes closer to gamavasi sect with more closer association with the ruling houses, while AsgiriMaha Vihara traces its origin from the vanavasi sect of the well knownDimbulagala forest monastery of Polonnaruva. Over the years, the two monasteries have grown in stature and significance and both play equal roles in the reiligions activities of the Sri Dalada Maligawa.

Most Venerable Mahanayake Theros of the Siyama Maha Niyakaye’s Malwatta Chapter Since 1753
  • Most Venerable Thibbatuwawe Sri Siddhartha Buddharakkitha Mahanayake Thero 1753 - 1773
  • Most Venerable Madawala Sri Ananda Rathanajothie Mahanayake Thero 1773 - 1774
  • Most Venerable Daramitipola Sri Dharmarakshitha Mahanayake Thero 1774 - 1787
  • Most Venerable Morathota Rajaguru Sri Dhammakkanda Mahanayake Thero 1787 - 1811
  • Most Venerable Kobbakaduwe Rajaguru Siriniwasa Mahanayake Thero 1811 - 1819
  • Most Venerable Walivita Sri Asarana Sarana Saranankara Mahanayake Thero 1819 - 1822
  • Most Venerable Gammulle Sri Sumana Mahanayake Thero 1822 - 1825
  • Most Venerable Kotikapola Sri Sobitha Mahanayake Thero 1825 - 1826
  • Most Venerable Kandegedara Sri Rewatha Mahanayake Thero 1826 - 1829
  • Most Venerable Galgiriyawe Sri Dhammarakshitha Sumangala Mahanayake Thero 1829 - 1850
  • Most Venerable Paranakumbure Sri Saranankara Vipassi Mahanayake Thero 1850 - 1862
  • Most Venerable Madagama Sri Dharmarakshitha Mahanayake Thero 1862 - 1877
  • Most Venerable Hippola Sri Sobitha Mahanayake Thero 1877 - 1893
  • Most Venerable Thibbatuwawe Sri Siddhartha Sumangala Mahanayake Thero 1893 - 1913
  • Most Venerable Galhiriyawe Sri Dharmarakshitha Buddharakshitha Mahanayake Thero 1913 - 1919
  • Most Venerable Amunugama Sri Piyadassi Mahanayake Thero 1919 - 1924
  • Most Venerable Ambanvelle Sri Siddhartha Sumangala Mahanayake Thero 1924 - 1927
  • Most Venerable Pahamune Sri Dharmakeerthi Saranankara Sumangala Mahanayake Thero 1927-1945
  • Most Venerable Rambukwalle Dharmakeerthi Sri Dharmarakshitha Sobitha Mahanayake Thero 1946 - 1955
  • Most Venerable Walivita Dharmakeerthi Asarana Sarana Saranankara Mahanayake Thero 1955 - 1956
  • Most Venerable Purujjala Sri Siddhartha Saranankara Mahanayake Thero 1956 - 1963
  • Most Venerable Amunugama Rajaguru Sri Niwasa Vipassi Mahanayake Thero 1964 - 1969
  • Most Venerable Madugalle Sri Sumana Siddhartha Dhammasiddi Mahanayake Thero 1969 - 1973
  • Most Venerable Wimalakeerthi Sri Sumana Panditha Sirimalwatte Ananada Mahanayake Thero 1973 - 1989
  • Most Venerable Rambukwalle Sri Dharmarakshitha Vipassi Mahanayake Thero 1989 - 2004
  • Most Venerable Thibbatuwawe Sri Siddhartha Sumangalabidhana Mahanayake Thero since 2004

Share With